The Other Rice

on

Good evening! It’s my rest day.

Recently, I bought a small bag of Jasmine Super 5 rice. It’s a super new experience cooking it. Took so many attempts, perhaps eights attempts to cook to get its best cooked on the stove. Complicated. I used “Cap Rambutan” rice on previous rice post.

My failed attempts:

  1. Added extra water but it was too soft. When it’s a little bit dried up, the rice base a bit burnt. Eatable but it was a lot of rice waste.
  2. Added lesser water thought the rice would use little water than other usual rice. Uncooked. Not enough water so I had to pour in little water when everything else dried up. Consequence? Rice base is also burnt although the rice will eventually cooked.

Just today, I tried covering the pot immediately after I could see the rice is transitioning into partially cooked rice. Small fire. However, you have to watch over the foam created when you put a lid on the pot. Uncover the pot when the foam rises up.

Perfect rice. Less waste.

Leave a comment