My Father

It remarks the Silver Jubilee of life for me this year. I am listening to Dance With My Father by Luther Vandross right now as I am writing this. How beautiful are the memories of my father that I can recall at the moment. He is sixty years old now, surprisingly! He married in his 30s to my mother of nearly 10 years age gap. Quite late, no? I am awed by the wonders of God, in my father’s 30s, God made him my worldly father. He is just enough for me, amazing and very hard working.

A little bit description of his background. He is the youngest son of two sons my late grandmother has. He also has two half-brothers and a half-sister. Basically, he is the youngest of all. He can’t cook but he is a handy-man. He can build house. He is our very own plumber, electrician, carpenter, and farmer. I could not remember the things he could not do. He is a skillful man. He literally can fix many things. He had his education until primary school.

He built our current house in the year 2003. It was only his brothers and friends who helped him. How cool is that? Just like the father I see in English movies. Now it’s my turn to contribute to the house so when my father gets older and sits at home, he could feel the warmth of my love. I really want to buy him an organ so he will never forget that he has the piano skills, regardless how much money I could make in the future, I will buy him one.

Honestly, since I was a kid, all I know is my father. I am not really close to my mother, I love her too but my world revolves around my father’s. I am quite a daddy’s girl. The biggest part of my life spent more with my father than anyone else in the family. He is the one whom I always call when I am far away from home. He is everything to me, he is a blessing of my life.

One of the sweetest things he had done for me is when he built a replica of wooden hut for my school project and it was so beautiful. My friend praised such an amazing wooden small hut he built for me. In the year 2004 or so, when I was revising Science subject, there was one thing that wondered me. I asked him if Mimosa Pudica leaves fold inward and droop when touched or shaken. He then carried me on his back and brought me to see the flowers. He touched the leaves and I saw the leaves folded and drooped happening before my eyes! This one little thing touches my heart every time.

I am thousand miles away from him right now. You are always in my heart and mind, father. I pray that Heavenly Father keeps you warm in His love and protect him against evil.

What does your father mean to you?

P/S: I will ask him to build another wooden hut replica so you could see in my next post.

Leave a comment